The main mission of Zelle is to re-invent fund transfer from one person to the other and the service has been doing pretty well. The service is popular in the US where it has grown its customer base since 2017 when it was founded.
As a user, there are some unfortunate scenarios where you might find yourself sending money to the wrong person or even sending the wrong amount for that matter. One good thing however is the fact that Zelle can let you cancel the payment in order for you to correct your mistakes in the next process.
One thing you should note is the fact that canceling a Zelle payment doesn’t apply to every situation. In fact, you can only cancel the payment if the recipient of the payment hasn’t enrolled with Zelle just yet.
If this is a bit confusing, you can simply check out the person to see whether they’ve been enrolled on Zelle or not by simply
- Opening your bank’s app or visit the website and log in to your existing account.
- Next is to go to the Activity tab
- From here, you’ll be able to see whether the recipient hasn’t enrolled yet as there’ll be a “Stop the payment” button next to their name
- Tap on the button and the payment will be cancelled. (NOTE: if the person has enrolled, the button will be missing)
- Also if your payment is for a future date, you can cancel it anytime by simply tapping the “Cancel” button.
Also, Zelle won’t charge you if you decide to cancel a payment.
To further clarify on a recipient who has already enrolled with the service, Zelle will often process the transfer to the recipient’s bank account immediately you hit the “Send” button which is why it’s often good to cross-check the recipient’s details first in order to be sure.
If you’ve realized your money went to the wrong person, you can try contacting them and request the money back.